LTC Students! CLICK HERE to access passwords for these databases.
Database: Academic Search Premier
|
Academic Search Premier is best for Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Engineering, History, Legal, Maths, Psychology, Technology, & Zoology. |
Database: Informit Explore
|
Informit Explore is best for anything Australian including English, Business, Psychology, Legal, ICT, Health, Indigenous Australia, Literature, Media, Arts, Politics, Sociology, Environmental Issues.
NOTE! Select “Informit Explore Trial” for the name of our school in the drop down menu. |
Libraries ACT Databases – Public library card and PIN needed.
As a College student with a public library card, you have access to the public library’s databases. Visit the Libraries ACT “Online Resources” page.
From this page, you can also search the National Library’s database, Trove, for resources from over 1000 libraries around Australia (including images, newspapers and more!).
We recommend the following databases to LTC students:
| Name | Most useful for… | Name | Most useful for… |
| Gale in Context: Science | Provides information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. | Britannica in three versions:
(Encyclopedias) |
1000 times better than Wikipedia for your reference list!
|
| Literature Resource Centre | Offers a representative range of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. | Health and Wellness Resource Centre | Reliable academic journals and other magazines about:
|
| Gale Interactive Science | A comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. Digital content is paired with interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating, or pulling them apart.
Would be useful for :
and more. |
Gale in Context: World History | Full text history information. |
Lake Tuggeranong College Library 